Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Star Wars Prequels Media Movies

Initial ROTS Reviews Hit the Internet 475

Posted by Zonk
from the i-sense-something-a-presence-i-haven't-felt-since dept.
Trunks writes "The first reviews of Episode III: Revenge of the Sith have started to trickle onto the Net. Reviews are posted at ComingSoon.net, Ain't It Cool News, Variety, and there are three separate reviews at TheForce.net. The current issue of Time magazine has a review as well. The reviews have all been positive so far, and the consensus appears to be that this is the best film of the prequels and it should satisfy fans who were unhappy with the first two."
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Initial ROTS Reviews Hit the Internet

Comments Filter:
  • No it won't (Score:5, Funny)

    by jbeaupre (752124) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:13PM (#12452098)
    I'll still be unsatisfied with the first two.
  • by CptTripps (196901) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:14PM (#12452106) Homepage
    I've been waiting for a "real" Star-Wars for years....let's hope this one works.

    Bonus poiints if there is a scene where Anakin kills Jar-Jar.
  • Bittorrent (Score:5, Funny)

    by Jemima's Witness (861035) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:15PM (#12452126) Homepage
    Yeah but I can't even find the bittorrent yet.
    • Re:Bittorrent (Score:5, Insightful)

      by MrAnnoyanceToYou (654053) <dylan.dylanbrams@com> on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:26PM (#12452347) Homepage Journal
      Of all the movies which should never be released on BitTorrent, StarWars III is the one that leads the pack.

      This would prove once and for all to 'the powers that be' on a legal level that P2p CAN lose money for people. Especially considering the lack of tanking reviews, if this movie fails or is even disappointing for ANY reason econommically, there is 0 chance that if there is a torrent out there it will not get blamed.

      From what I've seen, the pre-teen crowd might be not going to this movie, which could hurt its success. The question is whether this loss is enough. But really, if this movie fails and there's a torrent out there, there will be a witch hunt. Lucas might not even do it. In fact, I can't see him doing it, seeing as he's not that much of a luddite. But really, the WORST thing I can think of happening to Digital Copyright Stuff is this movie getting leaked.
      • by Knara (9377) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:33PM (#12452478)
        A Star Wars movie that isn't a blatant financial success? Where have you been the last 20 years?

        Sir, we've analyzed the bittorrent scene and there is a danger, we have your legal team standing by?

        - Litigate? In our moment of triumph? I think you overestimate their chances!

        • Re:Bittorrent (Score:3, Interesting)

          Ah, but defining success is the problem here. People in the entertainment industry can sometimes.... welll..... Yeah. Remember, this is the kind of people who, in the music industry, were screaming, "We've only had 50% revenue growth in the last three years," when Mp3 sharing was at its height. An industry which, while not hurting at all, continually pushes rapaciously towards more... Not exactly the kind of people to leave a rock unturned in any case they think they can make a little money under it.
      • Re:Bittorrent (Score:3, Interesting)

        by rjelks (635588)
        Not to mention the fact that using BitTorrent for any "prerelease" is risky. I remember how many of my friends saw the 1st prequel days before it was in theaters. If you want to test the legal waters with p2p, then Episode III will get you attention. :) I'm sure the studio has tons of people that are looking for that one to pop up.

        Reviews like these, and news of the PG-13 rating are startging to get my geeky hopes up for this one. Do we dare hope that this movie could be good?
      • Re:Bittorrent (Score:3, Interesting)

        by cOdEgUru (181536) *
        From what I've seen, the pre-teen crowd might be not going to this movie, which could hurt its success

        Not Really.. this is where Lucas Marketing whiz wheels kick in to action..

        Instead of kids going to the movie alone, or with other kids (PG), now they drag their parents along to watch it with them. Additional revenue that would otherwise been not there..
    • by Leroy_Brown242 (683141) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:34PM (#12452503) Homepage Journal
      Oh, so sad for you. :P

      I'm not going to mind going and seeing it in the theater. Biggest issue I see with going to the theater is sharing a space with drooling geeks. That place is going to stink of B.O. like crazy!

      • Re:Bittorrent (Score:3, Insightful)

        by HAKdragon (193605)
        My biggest issue with going to the theater is seeing 20 minutes of advertisements before the previews begin after paying $8 per ticket.
      • by TheHonestTruth (759975) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:52PM (#12452859) Journal
        Biggest issue I see with going to the theater is sharing a space with drooling geeks. That place is going to stink of B.O. like crazy!

        This may be funny to some people, but it can lead to a very real, and tragic, experience. When the Fellowship of the Ring opened up, I saw it at midnight in the Loews on Boston Common. There were definitely people that took it way too seriously, but everyone seemed like they were having fun, so whatever. They let us into the theater proper about a half hour before the show. Everyone was cheering and people were in a jolly mood. "Rob" came out to tell us that he was very happy we all came to his theater and that he is very excited that we are excited and says "if there is anything I can do, let me know." Everyone clapped and Rob left. There was no air conditioning in the theater, which is not really a problem in December, but it was noticeable that the air wsn't "fresh." After about 15 minutes of hundreds of (MIT) people in the theater, we start to notice the odor. Clearly not everyone notices. Most in fact have no clue. They continue laughing at the "ents" in the audience and checking out their promo Lord of the Rings cards. But we did see some people looking around and wrinkling their nose. Five more minutes go by and more people are making faces. I decide its time to do something about this. I leave the theater and find Rob. "Hey Rob, real glad you guys are doing his. Everyone is pretty excited. One thing: it's uh... kinda warm in there... and uhh... well, some of these people haven't showered in a few days... could you.. uh... turn on the AC or something." Rob laughs and says "sure." 5 minutes before the movie starts, the AC kicks in. 5 more minutes and the smell has (virtually) disappated and everyone enjoyed the movie.

        Let this be a lesson. Please, if you are reading slashdot, do your part on movie-night. Take a shower. It will be appreciated.

        -truth

  • Poll? (Score:5, Funny)

    by ackthpt (218170) * on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:15PM (#12452137) Homepage Journal

    I will see RotS:
    • Been there, done that.
    • First showing.
    • First day.
    • First week.
    • First month.
    • Never.
    • I'll watch it at CowboyNeal's when he gets the DVD.

    Even Spielberg chimed in [timeout.com], while making a plug for his travesty of War of the Worlds.

    "You'll cry at the end."

    baaaawwwwlll! I want my money back!!

  • Satisfy? (Score:5, Funny)

    by MudButt (853616) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:16PM (#12452145)
    ...it should satisfy fans who were unhappy with the first two.

    No... Nothing can take the pain away...
  • Rotten tomatoes (Score:5, Informative)

    by Reignking (832642) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:16PM (#12452154) Journal
    I prefer to let Rotten Tomatoes [rottentomatoes.com] compile all of the ratings for me...
    • I've liked that site since Roger Ebert referred to it in one of his Movie Man columns a long while back -- but even collected reviews like that are still going to suffer from the Dopplar effect of modern movie reviews. Beforehand the sound of approaching hype skews everything to a higher, better tone. It's only as they recede behind you that you realize how often "3-of-4-stars"-level movies totally stunk.

      The reviews for Episode II said the same sorts of "It marks a return to The Empire Strikes Back" stuff

  • by Cirrocco (466158) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:17PM (#12452171) Homepage
    This is what I've been waiting for...two solid hours of lightsaber duels!

    Because, let's face it, SW is really all about the lightsabers. You know you want one, and so do I.
    • by multiplexo (27356) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:35PM (#12452515) Journal
      Because, let's face it, SW is really all about the lightsabers. You know you want one, and so do I.

      I want and need one, but I'm afraid that the rest of you couldn't be trusted with one.

    • Watch the Clone Wars cartoons for the best lightsaber duels and battle scenes. General Grevious vs. Obi-Wan one-on-one? Bah, gimme Grevious taking out a dozen Jedi at once. Or the awesome battle between elite battle droids in the high speed train station. Or Mace Windu taking out a capital attack ship (and thousands of battle droids) single handedly. Just watch his force-fu.

      Awesome.
    • Hey, honestly:

      I'm not interested in creating a new mythology to attach to the star wars of my childhood.

      But lightsabers, man. Lightsabers are awesome, and I would be honestly happy if this movie just WAS two hours of lightsaber fights punctuated by occasional emotional scenes.

      Lightsabers.
  • I, along with most of /. probably can't count the number of times that we've seen the original 3 Episodes of SWs. I also know I'm not alone in having watched the first two prequels. So now, after all that, how can we not see Episode III? Even if the reviews said it was more of a cross between Ishtar and Battlefield Earth than a SW flick, we'd all still go see it just to finish the series off. After that many hours of investment, no matter how bad it was, we would still have to see it- because not seeing it would still be worse than seeing a horrendously awful movie.

    • Easy. I just wont see it.
    • ugh (Score:2, Interesting)

      by SuperBanana (662181)
      I, along with most of /. probably can't count the number of times that we've seen the original 3 Episodes of SWs

      You're right- I can't, because each time was less memorable than the first. Ever since I purposely watched it- probably over 10 years ago- the only times I've seen it have been when absolutely nothing else was on TV, and it was being re-run for the fiftieth time on the SciFi channel.

      This'll get me marked as a troll by all the rabid SW fanboys (or the Space Fetishists) with mod points, but he

    • Yeah, I've resigned myself to it. The way I see it: I was suckered in by the first two movies and payed full price. I made my bed when I chose to see Attack of the CG, and now I should sleep in it. Now I still believe the 3rd movie is probably crap, but hey, I'm a sucker. And on the off-chance that it actually isn't crap, how would I feel if I saw the two crappy movies in the theatre and then skipped out on the only good one? Like a sucker.
    • by gosand (234100)
      After that many hours of investment, no matter how bad it was, we would still have to see it- because not seeing it would still be worse than seeing a horrendously awful movie.

      That is exactly what Lucas counts on. My simple answer: wait. Wait and rent it. Why the impatience? You know it will come out on video/DVD eventually. I waited for Episode II, and I don't regret it one bit. I watched that entire movie in about an hour. FFWD is your friend. Remember those excruciating dialogue scenes in EPII?

  • by vjmurphy (190266) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:21PM (#12452258) Homepage
    "the consensus appears to be that this is the best film of the prequels and it should satisfy fans who were unhappy with the first two."

    Every time one of these comes out, they say that it's better than the previous one. And each time, I'm sorely disappointed. This one will be no different, I suspect. The hype machine is in full spin mode.

    Jedi Master: "This IS the film you are looking for."

    Former Fan: Your Jedi mind tricks won't work on me this time. Sure, you got me to see the Phantom Menace, and I regretted it. You coaxed me into seeing Attack of the Clones and I swore revenge. This time, NO WAY. My mind is too strong!

    • Every time one of these comes out, they say that it's better than the previous one.

      But thats true. Episode II was way better than Episode I. Even within the movie, the last half of Episode II is a lot better than the first half.

      So the movies have been getting better. And after the Clone Wars cartoon, I have my hopes up even more for this movie.

      Face it. Lucas should have made just ONE prequel, he really didn't have story material for 3.
    • Every time one of these comes out, they say that it's better than the previous one. And each time, I'm sorely disappointed. This one will be no different, I suspect. The hype machine is in full spin mode.

      What the hell are you talking about? That's only happened once! There's been _ONE_ sequel to a prequel so far.

  • But (Score:5, Funny)

    by SimianOverlord (727643) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:22PM (#12452276) Homepage Journal
    Is it true that Annakin Skywalker dies at the end? Someone told me this and it's just ruined the movie for me.
  • by Mr. Flibble (12943) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:23PM (#12452291) Homepage
    From TFA:

    Yoda in a lot of action, more cool bad guys, and no Jar Jar (well, at least no Jar Jar dialogue)

    You see, I searched through the TFA's and what is missing is very dissapointing:

    Jar Jar dies in a hideous 5 min torture scene where Annie cuts him slowly into kebabs with his lightsaber.

    That scene alone would have made the movie. Hopefully, someone will add it later.
    • Re:Dissapointed... (Score:5, Insightful)

      by hanssprudel (323035) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:33PM (#12452474)

      Jar Jar dies in a hideous 5 min torture scene where Annie cuts him slowly into kebabs with his lightsaber.

      That scene alone would have made the movie. Hopefully, someone will add it later.


      Lucas couldn't kill Jar-jar, even if he wanted to. Even if he had intended, since the very introduction of the character, that he should be killed by Darth Vader, there is no way he could have done it now. Why? Because the audience would have applauded!

      I can see it now - dramactic scene where Anakin draws his light saber and decapitates Jar-Jar with one single swipe. Obi-Wan screams "Nooooooooo" in ones of those Lucasesque I-would-not-know-emotion-if-it-hit-me-on-the-head pieces of dialogue. Dramatic camera cut to Jar-Jar's body. Meanwhile, the audience cheers and applauds.

    • That scene alone would have made the movie. Hopefully, someone will add it later.



      Trust me, it will. It will be in a special edition box set, that comes out a year or two after the first full box set (which you will buy), and because it contains this scene and a poster, it will cost twice as much.
  • by pg110404 (836120) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:24PM (#12452304)
    Initial ROTS review.... Rots...... rots..... return of the king?....no, that's ROTK.... Rots.... WTF?..... Oh that's right revenge of the sith. I wonder if the movie will live up to the hidden meaning in its abbreviation?
  • Record numbers of people will still go and see it. It's almost like you have to.. just like eating the last cookie in the cookie jar.

    Can't leave that last piece out of the puzzle. Sure, we know how the rest of the story goes, but that's not enough. :)

    Heck, we might even take a work-sponsored outing to go see it. Like I'll turn *that* down. heh.
  • by qw(name) (718245) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:24PM (#12452315) Journal

    I didn't really mind the first two movies. You could tell that they were leading up to some sort of finale with the details surrounding Anakin's turn to the dark side. They were not instant gratification movies and I don't think they were meant to be either.

    True, some parts/characters could have been left out of the final production but it/they didn't take so much away from the movies that it rendered the movies horrible.
    • True, some parts/characters could have been left out of the final production but it/they didn't take so much away from the movies that it rendered the movies horrible.

      Erm. Yes they did. ;-)

      Honestly though, I like esp 4,5 and 6 (roughly in that order of appreciation as well) but I struggle to find anything good to say about 1&2. The acting, script, editing and special effects were all dire... what did I miss? I'd honestly have left the cinema in episode 2, except that I was in the middle of a row. And
  • Hmm. Let's do a little deductive reasoning.
    • Many people flock to Ep. 1 based on the good will generated by the original series.
    • After a dissapointing experience with Ep. 1, only true Star Wars fans line up to see Ep. 2.
    • Well, #2 turns out also to be a stinker of a movie. So now only the really die hard fans (naming your kid Anakin?) line up for Ep. 3 on opening day.
    • And now we're supposed to be suprised at the generally positive reviews? Color me skeptical.
    • A truely die hard fan would not name his son Anakin. Luke maybe or Han, or if a girl Leia. Remember the die hards are in their 30's and would get their names from the original 3.
      • Anakin was named in Return of the Jedi:

        Vader: So, you have accepted the truth.
        Luke: I have accepted the truth that you were once Anakin Skywalker, my father.
        Vader: That name no longer has any meaning for me.

    • I call shenanigans! Where's you proof that only Star Wars fans lined up to see Episode 2?

      From Box Office Mojo:

      The Phantom Menace
      Worldwide: $924,488,301
      Opening Weekend: $64,820,970
      (2,970 screens, $21,825 average)

      Attack of the Clones
      Worldwide: $649,476,740
      Opening Weekend: $80,027,814
      (3161 screens $25,317 average)

      Episode 2 had a bigger opening weekend, and each screen had a higher gross. Your reasoning is not really based in fact, but more personal judgement. Sure AotC made less money w
  • Damn capitalist pigs and their oppressive subscription model! Someone needs to free the ENTIRE article... because... erm, I don't feel like paying for it.
  • by nweaver (113078) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:27PM (#12452363) Homepage
    But does Jar Jar get the Lightsaber Enema he so greatly deserves?
  • The first reviews of Episode III: Revenge of the Sith have started to trickle onto the Net. [snip] The reviews have all been positive so far

    Isn't that what they said about the Hitchhiker movie? Brillaint? True to Adam's vision? Except critics are pretty much split about it [rottentomatoes.com]...and many Hitchhiker fans all have the same thing to say, which is that it really wasn't that funny, because it didn't have that mix of absurdity and sophistication his books had- ie, it wasn't true to Adams at all. Example- we don

    • 61% is an even split?

      Is that similar to how 51% is an overwhelming election victory?

      • 61% is an even split?

        Considering most of the reviews marked "plusses" say things like "it was an insult to Adams, but it's saved by decent graphics and acting"- yeah. A lot of critics tried really hard to have something nice to say about it.

        Is that similar to how 51% is an overwhelming election victory?

        That is a "mandate", citizen! Prepare for re-education!

  • ...and give us a topless Padme scene. I'd definitely walk out satisfied.
  • Let's get George to make a special 'Readers Digest' version the first two. That was we can sit through one, instead of five hours of crap to understand the major plot points of this one.
  • by abulafia (7826)
    I guess it is a better (more descriptive?) moniker than "lotter".
  • The Matrix (Score:2, Interesting)

    by Durzel (137902)
    the consensus appears to be that this is the best film of the prequels and it should satisfy fans who were unhappy with the first two. ..which isn't exactly difficult given the bar has been set so low by the previous two prequels.

    It does look however as if the Star Wars prequels will actually achieve the polar opposite levels of critical acclaim as the Matrix trilogy did (i.e. Matrix/SWEP3:ROTS - great, Matrix Reloaded/SWEP2:AOTC - good-ish, Matrix Revolutions/SWEP1:TPM - dire)
  • by Tibor the Hun (143056) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:36PM (#12452548)
    I think it's important to keep a couple of things in mind:

    1. The action scenes and special effects will be cool. The storyline will be OK, the fall of the senate and rise of emperor and empire will be interesting. It will be nice to see the "straw that breaks the camel's back" and see Anakin finally snap.

    2. The acting and the dialogue will be incredibly stiff. It's Lucas after all. I can imagine that exchanges between Padme and Anakin will be just as meaningless as before. (Padme looked pretty convincing though, crying on one of the trailers.)

    If you keep those 2 in mind as you go see the movie, it should be a cool and a welcome conclusion to what started out as a kickass story, turned into a disappointment.

  • There is nothing I live more than reading every thread about the Matrix or Star Wars telling me that certain movies stink. It doesn't grow tired at all.

    That horse is dead and the users are know bleaching the bones.
  • SW:ROTS reviews (Score:5, Interesting)

    by RealProgrammer (723725) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:52PM (#12452853) Homepage Journal
    What was wrong with the first two prequels? People complain about Star Wars episodes not being highbrow enough, or adult enough, or complex enough, etc. Star Wars is supposed to be popcorn, not trout almondine. If you can follow the symbolism to see the film at another level, so much the better, but it's a mistake to look so hard for the deep meaning that you miss the fun at the surface.

    I have seen all of the Star Wars episodes as they have been released, and each time I make it a point not to expect anything. I watch and enjoy. The cliche "it is what it is" fits here.

    These movies are aimed at multiple audiences: pre-teens, teenagers, adult sci-fi nerds, moms, dads, etc. That's why there's always a Jar-Jar, a tragic love affair, a love triangle, a classic struggle between good and evil affecting the future of a civilization, or whatever.

    If you go in thinking you want the plot to go a certain way or for there to be a final explanation of any particular story line, you'll usually be disappointed.

    Just keep your eyes open, sit back, and enjoy the popcorn.
    • Re:SW:ROTS reviews (Score:3, Informative)

      by Control-Z (321144)
      What was wrong with the first two prequels? People complain about Star Wars episodes not being highbrow enough, or adult enough, or complex enough, etc. Star Wars is supposed to be popcorn, not trout almondine. If you can follow the symbolism to see the film at another level, so much the better, but it's a mistake to look so hard for the deep meaning that you miss the fun at the surface.

      Actually Episode 1 was TOO highbrow. Who cares about the "Trade Federation"? Nobody, that's who. There was no Han
    • Re:SW:ROTS reviews (Score:5, Insightful)

      by angle_slam (623817) on Friday May 06, 2005 @01:43PM (#12453785)
      The disappointment is simple. In Ep 4-6, we learn that Luke's father was a great pilot and a Jedi apprentice who was eventually seduced by the Dark Side. Ep 1 had VERY little to do with that.

      What should have happend was AOTC as Ep 1. Then Ep 2 can cover the Clone Wars, with ROTS still being Ep 3. That would have been a more effective story because it would have built Anakin up as a hero more, making his Fall greater. As it stands, he is a whiny jerk who wants power. What it should have been is a War Hero who saved the Galaxy. THEN he got hungry with power.

      • Re:SW:ROTS reviews (Score:4, Insightful)

        by Coryoth (254751) on Friday May 06, 2005 @02:21PM (#12454387) Homepage Journal
        What should have happend was AOTC as Ep 1. Then Ep 2 can cover the Clone Wars, with ROTS still being Ep 3. That would have been a more effective story because it would have built Anakin up as a hero more, making his Fall greater.

        This is actually rather insightful. If Episode 1 had featured Anakin being roughly Luke's age or a little younger then, for instance, the love story with whoever was going to be Luke's mother could have been introduced or strongly hinted at in Ep1, properly developed in an unhurried way in Ep2, then suitably tragically broken in Ep3.

        The impression I had gotten from Ep4-6 was that Obi Wan had found himself out in the ass end of space, mostly out of touch with the Jedi council, and had encountered this great pilot with a lot of natural ability with the force. Unable to discuss the matter with the Jedi council Obi wan took it upon himself (still young and inexperienced at the time) to train Anakin, fucked it up, and fell right into the hands of the empire. That would have made some sense to me, and would have offered, as you say, a great chance to really develop Anakin as a heor, to really develop the love story over a couple of films, and to contrast the way in which Obi Wan teaches Luke with the way he teaches Anakin. Ah well, too late now.

        Jedidiah.
      • Re:SW:ROTS reviews (Score:4, Insightful)

        by Coryoth (254751) on Friday May 06, 2005 @02:27PM (#12454484) Homepage Journal
        What it should have been is a War Hero who saved the Galaxy. THEN he got hungry with power.

        Actually thinking about this part a little more, I think you are again on to something. One could easily develop a story a little akin to say Red Son [superman.ws] which does a fine job of turning the all powerful hero into something of a villain in an elegant and believable way. Just add some material about Anakin's rage at not being able to control everything the way he feels he should/deserves to (perhaps the death of his wife could come in here somewhere) and thus falling to the dark side and you would have a much more compeeling story.

        Jedidiah.
    • by msimm (580077)
      And I was personally had hoped Lucas and Spielberg knew the significance of that (and maybe artistically and personally had been doing some of the same).

      Lucas himself claims in latest Wired [wired.com] "to have a stack of ideas piling up on his desk for "highly abstract, esoteric" films even more daring than his 1971 debut, THX 1138".

      Revisiting a classic set of movies a few decades after the original should have been a opportunity to showcase their sophistication and growth, but they turned out more fizzle then a
  • by limabone (174795) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:58PM (#12452957)
    If you enjoy the Star Wars movies/genre you will like this movie. I saw the movie on Tuesday:

    1. It is darker than the other movies...but not much darker than Empire. I think it's only two scenes that, if removed, would have given this the same rating as the other movies.
    2. The acting and writing is bad. Some good acting moments, but not many.
    3. The action and music and special effects are great.

    My biggest beefs were the dialogue between Padme and Anakin.

    You WILL need to see this movie more than one time, if for any reason then for the initial space battle scene. There is simply so much going on I wish I could have played that in slo-mo to check everything out.

    So go out, grab some popcorn and enjoy the hell out of the movie and try not to analyze it too much. It's an easy trap to fall into (Right Admiral Ackbar?), cuz I know I did.
  • Kevin Smith's review (Score:4, Interesting)

    by DroopyStonx (683090) on Friday May 06, 2005 @12:58PM (#12452961)
    http://viewaskew.com/news/sith/ [viewaskew.com]

    He more or less said that this is the prequel all you whiners and complainers have been waiting for.

    He's a big Star Wars fan himself, and he flat out said that it's a damn good movie... darker than Empire Strikes Back... so you know it's good.

  • Dear Slashdot (Score:5, Insightful)

    by kenp2002 (545495) on Friday May 06, 2005 @01:54PM (#12453970) Homepage Journal
    Dear /.

    As I near the big 30 I look back at Star Wars with embarrasment. Somewhere along the line I learned about life and that silly things like "What was the 4th stormtroopers middle inital" were in fact trivial. I also look back at Motley Crue, Poison, and most of the 80s with a sense of distrurbed horror.

    I realize that movies I liked as a child suck. I had emotion attached to the older shows but if a new one came out in a similar fashion, without the emotional attachment, I would say that the new one sucks. I loved Looney Toons, I loved Spiderman and Friends, but I sure as hell don't like the new stuff. But when I see an old one that I liked as a kid the nostalgic attachment alters how I see it. I can watch an old re-run and not gasp at how horrible the animtion is because the old emotion and perception of the show softens the blow. Come on, watch a few episodes of Thundercats and you'll know what I mean....

    But also dealing with children I realize that they "get" that emotional attachment to the prequals because they're new to them. The fact is that all these Star Wars dorks (75.43% of /. readers it seems) dislike of the new movies is simply the lack of that nostalgic attachment because of an unatainable yearning to live in that nostaligic "moment" before the mortgage, car insurance, diaper changing, my boss is an evil demon, life set in. My 9 year old nephew loves episode 1, and 2, and is frantically waiting for 3 (He hasn't seen the original 3 yet.) In fact he loves it just like I loved watching the first 3. That is the reality. You've grown up, you tastes have changed, and there will never be another "Star Wars" like the one you remember because you will never be that child (teen) seeing that for the first time. Nostalgia is a lie, there never was the good-old-days, they're lies that you memory tells you. The lie tells you that seen a movie based on something you've seen before will give you that emotion and feel again. It won't, it's a lie.

    Think I'm wrong? Put in that Whinnie the Pooh tape you used to watch as a kid 50 times a day and see if you can watch it twice in a row... didn't think so...
    • Re:Dear Slashdot (Score:5, Insightful)

      by SomeOtherGuy (179082) on Friday May 06, 2005 @02:54PM (#12454849) Journal
      Perfect perception and post!! Kudos to you.

      When TPM came out and I was able to take my child age 6 to see the show (I was 6 when I first saw Star Wars with my father.)

      And you know what -- When she fell in love with Jar-Jar, and had to have the Jar-Jar Shirt, the Jar-Jar action figure, the Jar-Jar Bowl and Plate set with matching fork and spoon....I understood things a whole lot better than most of the people who where "original star wars" fans that despised TPM....

      Well George I got it. You were giving to my kids the same thing you gave to me. (My Dad thought C3-PO and Chewbacca were strange role models...)

      What sucks is that most of you "fanboys" did not "get it". You wanted TPM to be Star Wars mixed with Blade Runner and The Matrix. You wanted George to cater to the original fans after 20+ years of hard liven'. George catered to the same crowd he did before.....Just you were no longer in it.

Why did the Roman Empire collapse? What is the Latin for office automation?

Working...